Aarhus University Seal

Ice and ocean (3)

This work package deals with the cryosphere and its links to the ocean and atmosphere. The focus is to examine the role of sea ice, glaciers and permafrost on physical, chemical and biological conditions in the Arctic. This involves the understanding of the effect of reduced sea ice conditions on the magnitude and regulation of sea ice algal communities, biogeochemistry, ocean acidification, brine, gas and chemical conditions in the sea ice and upper ocean, the ocean-ice-atmosphere boundary layer. This work package also deals with glacier-ocean interactions to understand the role of the ocean in melting the Greenland ice sheet (GIS), and how GIS meltwater influence coastal species and ecosystems, and its role for upwelling of nutrient rich deeper waters in the coastal domain. Effect of microbes on the stability of the GIS and cloud formation is also included. Finally the work package deals with permafrost and the potential for coastal erosion, release of greenhouse gases during warmer conditions. The feedback between Arctic and the rest of the World is also an important part of this work package e.g. sea level rise, fisheries, marine transport, ice hazards.

List of people connected to this work package

Name Job title Unit Email Phone Building
Barbosa Anesio, Alexandre Magno Professor Department of Environmental Science - Environmental Microbiology ama@envs.au.dk +4587158736 7411, B2.04
Boone, Wieter Research Engineer Arctic Research Centre wieter.boone@au.dk
Carstensen, Jacob Professor Department of Ecoscience - Applied Marine Ecology and Modelling jac@ecos.au.dk +4587158596 7411, B1.17
Christensen, Peter Bondo Senior Researcher Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology pbc@ecos.au.dk +4522617949 1131, 532
Davidson, Thomas Alexander Professor Department of Ecoscience - Lake Ecology thd@ecos.au.dk +4587158743 1131, 432
Dideriksen, Andreas Kjær PhD Student Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology akd@bio.au.dk
Frandsen, Egon Randa Logistics Coordinator Arctic Research Centre erf@bio.au.dk +4541915661
Funder Castenschiold, Christian Ditlev PhD Student Department of Biology - Microbiology christian.ditlev@bio.au.dk
Grønkjær, Peter Professor Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology peter.groenkjaer@bio.au.dk +4523382177 1134, 228
Henson, Henry Churchill PhD Student Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology hch@ecos.au.dk
Høgslund, Signe Member of Administrative Staff Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology sigh@ecos.au.dk +4541915665 1131, 530
Holding, Johnna Michelle Tenure Track Scientist Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology johnna@ecos.au.dk 1131, 522
Im, Ulas Senior Researcher Department of Environmental Science - Atmospheric Emissions & Modelling ulas@envs.au.dk +4587158662 7404, 142
Jacobsen, Carsten Suhr Head of Department, Professor Department of Environmental Science csj@envs.au.dk +4587158701 7411, B2.14
Jensen, Lasse Z. PhD Student Department of Biology - Microbiology lassejensen@bio.au.dk
Krause-Jensen, Dorte Professor Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology dkj@ecos.au.dk +4561860618 1131, 528
Langen, Peter L. Professor, Centre Director Department of Environmental Science - Atmospheric Emissions & Modelling plangen@envs.au.dk +4520618369 7407, 120
Lund-Hansen, Lars Chresten Associate Professor Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology lund-hansen@bio.au.dk 1135, 321
Mikkelsen, Peter Schmidt Member of Administrative Staff Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology pemi@bio.au.dk +4593508392 1134, 224
Møller, Eva Friis Professor, Deputy Head of Department Department of Ecoscience - ECOS Roskilde efm@ecos.au.dk +4587158559 7410, A1.41
Mostovaya, Alina Postdoc Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology alina@ecos.au.dk 1131, 328
Olesen, Birgit Associate Professor Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology birgit.olesen@bio.au.dk +4523382117 1130, 234
Poulsen, Ebbe Mechanical Engineer Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology ebbe_poulsen@bio.au.dk
Puts, Isolde Callisto Postdoc Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology isolde.puts@ecos.au.dk
Ruiz Castillo, Eugenio Postdoc Arctic Research Centre eruizcas@bio.au.dk
Rysgaard, Søren Professor Arctic Research Centre rysgaard@bio.au.dk +4524643206
Santl-Temkiv, Tina Associate Professor iCLIMATE Aarhus University Interdisciplinary Centre for Climate Change - iCLIMATE Aarhus University Interdisciplinary Centre for Climate Change, Ny Munkegade 116 temkiv@bio.au.dk
Schiøtt, Sascha PHD Arctic Research Centre sasc@au.dk +4522212268
Schmidt, Jennie Spicker PhD Student Department of Biology - Microbiology jss@bio.au.dk
Sejr, Mikael Kristian Professor Arctic Research Centre - Arctic Research Center, ECOS Water mse@ecos.au.dk +4530454314
Sørensen, Lise Lotte Professor - Head of section Department of Environmental Science - Atmospheric Measurements lls@envs.au.dk +4530183119 7404, 141
Sorrell, Brian Keith Associate Professor Department of Biology - Aquatic Biology brian.sorrell@bio.au.dk +4593508779 1135, 215
Thyrring, Jakob Tenure Track Scientist Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology thyrring@ecos.au.dk +4551333714 1131, 522
Verdugo Avello, María Josefa Postdoc Arctic Research Centre josefa.verdugo@au.dk

Contact lead:

Søren Rysgaard

Professor Arctic Research Centre

Contact co-lead:

Jakob Thyrring

Tenure Track Scientist Department of Ecoscience - Marine Ecology